Back to Scholarship list

Arkansas Health Education Grant | ARHEG

Graduate Students

 Important Note: The following information is intended as a general overview of the program for those applying, or who are considering applying, for the scholarship and is not intended to be a comprehensive compilation of program requirements. For complete information, please refer to the program’s rules and regulations.

ARHEG provides financial assistance to students seeking professional training in chiropractic medicine, dentistry, optometry, osteopathic medicine, podiatric medicine, and veterinary medicine to allow them to attend out-of-state institutions.

 Scholarship Deadline to Apply

Annual Deadline
July 1

 Detailed Description

Basic Eligibility Criteria

An applicant must:

  • Be a certified Arkansas resident
    • Certification is initiated by completion and submission of the application and affidavit
  • Apply and be accepted by a school under contract with the state.
    • Accepted programs of study include chiropractic medicine, dentistry, optometry, osteopathic medicine, podiatric medicine, and veterinary medicine
      • NOTE: No new Osteopathic students will be awarded since fall 2017. Those students already receiving funds will be paid through the end of their eligibility.


Continuing Eligibility Criteria

  • Student must be a good academic standing and make satisfactory academic progress toward timely completion of the participating institution’s prescribed curriculum, as defined by the participating institution, for the applicable academic period in question.

Participating Institutions

  • Asterisk (*) indicates SREB contract.
  • Plus sign (+) indicates a private institution.
Field of Study Entering Slots

124 (Total)

Louisiana State University (New Orleans, LA) *16
Meharry Medical College (Nashville, TN) *4
Texas A & M University (Dallas, TX) *10
University of Missouri (Kansas City, MO) 2
University of Tennessee (Memphis, TN) *92
Chiropractic Medicine13 (Total)
Cleveland Chiropractic College (Kansas City, MO) +1
Life University (Marietta, GA) +2
Logan College of Chiropractic (Chesterfield, MO) +3
Palmer College of Chiropractic (Davenport, IA) +2
Parker College of Chiropractic (Irving, TX) +5
Texas Chiropractic College (Pasadena, TX) +0
Optometry27 (Total)
Northeastern State University (Tahlequah, OK) *


Southern College of Optometry (Memphis, TN) *+20
University of Missouri (St. Louis, MO)0
Podiatric Medicine1 (Total)
Des Moines University (Des Moines, IA) +1
Veterinary Medicine39 (Total)
Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge, LA) *36
Oklahoma State University (Stillwater, OK)1
Tuskegee University (Tuskegee, AL) +1
University of Missouri (Columbia, MO)1


Award Amounts

  • SREB Contracts
    • If the school participates in the SREB contract program, the state pays a set fee per student to the SREB according to the table below.
Field of Study FY 2016-17 FY 2017-18 FY 2018-19 
Dentistry $20,300$21,300$21,900
Chiropractic Medicine $5,000$5,000$5,000
Optometry $17,800$18,700$19,200
Osteopathic Medicine $17,800$18,700$19,200
Podiatric Medicine $11,300$12,700$13,000
Veterinary Medicine $31,100$32,600$33,500


  • Non-SREB Contracts

If the school has a direct contract with the ADHE, the contract basically provides that the state will pay to the schools that charge different resident and non-resident tuition an amount equal to the difference between the resident and non-resident tuition, which the school will apply to the tuition and fees of such students. Should the differential exceed the contract price approved for similar programs by the SREB, the lesser amount will be paid. For schools that charge the same amount of annual tuition for residents and non-residents, and such annual tuition is extraordinary as determined by the ADHE, the amount will not be less than $5,000 per student, which the school will apply to the amount of tuition and fees of such students.

 Rules and Regulations  APPLY NOW

 Back to Scholarship list